Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Do you see Philosophy as necessary to science?

1. Mar 7, 2003 #1

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

And if you do, why? Why is it not necessary?
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 7, 2003 #2
    "I am now convinced that theoretical physics is actual philosophy." --Max Born, Autobiography

of course it is necessary, how else will you explain without experimentation.
  4. Mar 7, 2003 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

what some do not realize is that the initial flame of science starts with speculation (aka philosophy)...
  5. Mar 7, 2003 #4

btw city of roses, you are in portland, or?
  6. Mar 7, 2003 #5

Tom Mattson

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Kerrie, it's like you're reading my mind or somethin'. I just found lecture notes on this, and I am eager to go through them with the rest of PF. I am a newbie to philosophy, so I confess I have no answer to the question you posed in the title of the thread, but I am looking forward to finding out.
  7. Mar 7, 2003 #6
    Philosophy is, in itself, the method of asking, wondering, and knowing. Science is the inquiring of knowledge that seeks to answer the questions asked by philosophy.

Historically, many scientists (such as Newton, Liebniz, Descartes, etc.) were philosophers well so I can see where science ties in with philosophy.
  8. Mar 8, 2003 #7

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

i believe philosophy is quite necessary to science...philosophy is the point of speculation, of asking why, science is the vehicle that moves the question of why to how...

yes mactech, i am in NE portland, i see that you also have an email from portland state, which is a great college...
  9. Mar 8, 2003 #8
    ah i c.. :) cool.
  10. Mar 8, 2003 #9

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member