1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Doctorate in engineering?

1. Aug 12, 2005 #1
    I am currently a junior electrical engineering student (might possibly double major in computer engineering). I know for sure that while I am working I will pick up a masters in ECE by going to night school part time. I can do this in 2 years. However, I am wondering whether I should keep going to school to get a doctorate in engineering (possibly manufacturing systems or ECE). I can do this in about 6 years on top of the master's degree when going to school part time. My question to you is, how beneficial to an engineer is graduate study up to the doctorate? What kinds of opportunities are available to an engineer with a doctorate? I know the Ph.D is extremely important in the sciences, but is it as good of a degree to have in engineering?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2005 #2
    Previously you were talking about a physics/math dual major with chem minor or physics major with chem/math dual minor. You seriously need more time to think about your career yourself, otherwise your going to end up throwing money out the window or end up wasting time altogether. It seems to me that you have already given up your ambition in one week and you still don't know what for sure your going to do in your life. For what reasons that this insecurity has caused you to change your mind so quickly is none of my or anyone else's business but your going into your third year and you should have a good indication of what your going to do. If not, then stare deeply at yourself in a mirror.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2005
  4. Aug 12, 2005 #3