1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

DoD jobs and internships

1. Mar 10, 2015 #1
    hello all, i am currently an electrical engineer at cal state fullerton and have an overall gpa of 3.5 currently a sophmore. I was wondering if anyone knows how difficult it would be to get a job as an entry level engineer at say Boeing, Raytheon, Lockheedmartin, northrop grumman. these companies are my dream job and i was wondering if going to cal state fullerton will only hinder me in getting a job at one of these companies. im pretty sure the name of your school has some weight but will my gpa offset that? thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 10, 2015 #2
    I could be wrong on this but the places you listed are not DoD. DoD jobs would be typically at naval research places and such. While the places you listed are funded mostly by the government I believe you would still be a private employee without the (GSI? pay scale).

You might want to look into it, the smart scholar ship is a pretty good gig. make some money in college with guaranteed internships and then a job at the end. You can get it for grad school as well.

4. Mar 11, 2015 #3
    You might want to give this a read, wish I'd gotten this advice earlier in my career:

http://www.quora.com/Can-I-get-a-job-at-SpaceX-after-graduating-from-a-low-ranked-engineering-program [Broken]