Does a PhD topic really matter?

In summary, the topic of your PhD research does matter as it can affect your future opportunities and career path. It is important to choose a topic that you are interested in and that aligns with your skills and strengths. It is also helpful to research and talk to people in your department to get a better understanding of the available research and potential career paths. Ultimately, a PhD is not an end but a beginning, and what you do with your degree is up to you.
gol3tron
Does a PhD topic really matter??

Im a 2nd year graduate student trying to find an advisor to work for. I would really like to do an experimental project, but I'm worried that if I commit to one field (condensed matter, say), that I won't have the opportunity when I graduate to do something like experimental particle phys, which my department is lacking. Should I just get a MS and try to finish a PhD somewhere else? Does the topic of your PhD research really matter?

Help!

Physics news on Phys.org

Well, your PhD project does matter, and it sounds like you're clueless right now, which is NOT good. You need to go talk to people in your department, look at papers they've written or posters they have hanging in the halls. Then pick something, because something is better than nothing. If you have no clue and get a terminal masters, do you think your decision or opportunity is going to really be that much better anywhere else in another 2 years? To help you, you might think about what classes you've liked (and done well in), and which field those classes most relate to in regards to the available research at your institution.

If you want to do hep-exp you will certainly need to do a phd thesis in the area, there is a lot of competition for the available posdoc positions and you won't be in a good position if you do a phd in lasers (just to put some example).