Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does anybody have experience in home schooling ?

1. Aug 18, 2005 #1
    Does anybody have experience in home schooling ?
    Would OLCI be a good choice?

Last edited: Aug 18, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2005 #2

GCT

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

no idea what OLCI is, but homeschoolers score relatively high on the SATs...my two cents

4. Aug 23, 2005 #3
    OLCI is and open learning center meaning you can study an a-level course at home without having to go to school. They send you a package of booklets which you do in your time, as well as you get a tutor whom you can contact when ever you like. I am interested in taking one of these courses, but i have never done this before. I was actually hoping someone who did this already could tell me if it works...
    I am thankfull for any comment though :)

Last edited: Aug 23, 2005
  5. Aug 23, 2005 #4

GCT

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Does the term GSCE (or GCSE) sound familiar to you? I think I've run across a forum, just like this one, devoted to homeschooling...although I'm not able to remember at this time.

6. Aug 23, 2005 #5
    Well, I'd say to avoid homeschooling. The social development that is associated with normal schooling is just as important as the academic development, IMO.

7. Aug 31, 2005 #6