Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does anybody know verilog?

1. Apr 17, 2008 #1
    Hi. I'm new to verilog and I'm trying to do something that to me, seems very simple. I have a file with some logic and outputs, and all I want is for the outputs to hold their values, like registers.

In other words, if output = 001, I want it to stay that way until it is re-assigned. The problem I am having, is that verilog won't let me assign my output or a wire to a register value.

Here is my code so far:
    Code (Text):
    module coin_input(CI, button_out_signal, button_in);
        output [1:0] CI;
        output button_out_signal;
        input [3:0] button_in;
        wire [2:0] button_id;
        reg [1:0] CItemp;
        wire [1:0] CItemp2;
        assign CI[1] = CItemp2[1];
        assign CI[0] = CItemp2[0];
        assign CItemp2[1] = CItemp[1];
        assign CItemp2[0] = CItemp[0];
        //Connect buttons to button stabilizers
        //Button_Stabilizer(button_out, button1_in, enter)
        Button_Stabilizer   bs2(button_id[2], button_in[3], button_in[0]),
                            bs1(button_id[1], button_in[2], button_in[0]),
                            bs0(button_id[0], button_in[1], button_in[0]);
        //Convert button_id's to CI to give precedence to higher-value coins
        always @(posedge button_in[3]) begin
            {CItemp[1], CItemp[0]} <= 2'b11;
        always @(posedge button_in[2]) begin
            {CItemp[1], CItemp[0]} <= 2'b10;
        always @(posedge button_in[1]) begin
            {CItemp[1], CItemp[0]} <= 2'b01;

//Set button_out_signal to 1
        assign button_out_signal = button_in | 1'b0;
    You can see that I am using the register CItemp to hold the values that I want to store. I want to assign the output, CI, to this register value. How in the world do I do that?
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 17, 2008 #2