Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does energy cause gravity?

1. Sep 14, 2006 #1
    This may be a dumb question as I am no expert on this matters but curiosity compells me to ask anyway. Does energy have the same kind of bending effect on spacetime that causes gravity that matter does? Does the E=mc^2 make them interchangable in this regard also? If we implode the earth ripping apart every atom into energy, but contain this energy in the same amount of space that the mass of the earth used to occupy does the bending effect the earths mass used to have on spacetime remain the same? If the answer is yes -does this mean a massless particle can have a weight?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2006 #2
    I'm a "new born" in relativity, so highly likely I'm wrong, but I'm going to guess "no", because gravity is a phenomenon of mass.

It'll be interesting to see how badly I get mauled on this one :)

4. Sep 14, 2006 #3

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Indeed, energy has gravity, too.

A box full of light -- bouncing between mirrors, for example -- weighs slightly more than a similar empty box.

The difference in weight is extremely small, but real.

In general relativity, a theory which describes gravity, energy and mass are actually lumped together into the same term in the equations.

- Warren

5. Sep 14, 2006 #4
    as far as I know mass is just energy that "takes up" space. It is interchangable with energy using E=mc^2 because it is just energy.

6. Sep 14, 2006 #5

rbj

that's because all of them photons bouncing around in the box are massless.

7. Sep 15, 2006 #6

pervect

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I would say "in spite of" rather than "because of". In spite of the fact that the individual photons are massless, the box of photons weighs more than an empty box.