Does Rest Mass Affect the Bending of Spacetime?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between energy and gravity in regards to mass and spacetime. It is noted that energy also has gravity and that a box full of light weighs slightly more than an empty box due to the massless photons bouncing around inside. It is also mentioned that in general relativity, energy and mass are considered the same in terms of their effect on gravity. The conversation also discusses the concept of converting energy into matter, and how it takes a significant amount of energy to produce a small amount of mass that can create a gravitational field. There is also a discussion about the amount of energy contained in the Sun and its comparison to the total mass of the Sun, with the conclusion that the energy only makes up a very small portion
Elfie
This may be a dumb question as I am no expert on this matters but curiosity compells me to ask anyway. Does energy have the same kind of bending effect on spacetime that causes gravity that matter does? Does the E=mc^2 make them interchangable in this regard also? If we implode the Earth ripping apart every atom into energy, but contain this energy in the same amount of space that the mass of the Earth used to occupy does the bending effect the Earth's mass used to have on spacetime remain the same? If the answer is yes -does this mean a massless particle can have a weight?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm a "new born" in relativity, so highly likely I'm wrong, but I'm going to guess "no", because gravity is a phenomenon of mass.

It'll be interesting to see how badly I get mauled on this one :)

Indeed, energy has gravity, too.

A box full of light -- bouncing between mirrors, for example -- weighs slightly more than a similar empty box.

The difference in weight is extremely small, but real.

In general relativity, a theory which describes gravity, energy and mass are actually lumped together into the same term in the equations.