Is Quantum Field Theory Always This Challenging?

• Thread starter dimachka
  • Start date
Your Name]In summary, the individual has been working on a problem set for their first quantum field theory class for 17 hours and 20 minutes, with only a few short breaks. They are wondering if this is a common experience for studying QFT or if it is just unique to the beginning stages. As an expert, I would say that the time taken to solve problems in QFT can vary and it is important to take breaks and seek help if needed. With practice and a deeper understanding of the subject, it will become easier to solve problems.
dimachka
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum but i figured I would post here. So I've been working on a problem set for my first quantum field theory class consisting of 3 problems since 10am this morning with nothing but a few 20 minute breaks to eat, i just finished the second problem after 17 hours and 20 minutes. I'm just wondering if this is something unique to the beginnings of quantum field theory (i.e. before we have started path integral formulation, we are still doing chapters 5 and 6 of P&S) or if this is what I have to look forward to for all my studies of QFT? Thanks in advance for any comments.

Physics news on Phys.org

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I can understand the frustration and exhaustion you must be feeling after spending such a long time on just two problems. Quantum field theory is a complex subject and it is not uncommon for students to struggle with it in the beginning.

I would say that the time taken to solve problems in QFT can vary depending on the individual's understanding and background in the subject. Some may find it easier and quicker to solve problems, while others may take longer. It also depends on the complexity of the problems and the methods used to solve them.