Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Does MWI imply solipsism?

1. Nov 8, 2017 #1
    Hi guys,

I am new to physics forums and am an undergrad who is really interested in the philosophical implications of quantum physics. I know this isn’t a philosophy forum but upon skimming older threads regarding MWI I have come across an interesting number of posts by a few members named vanesch and ttn. Here is the post I was just looking at:

https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/what-is-an-element-of-reality.62205/page-10#post-714587

They seemed to be suggesting that the only way the principle of relativity can be saved is with MWI - which is also solipsistic (i.e. everyone only experiences their own world where none of their friends are conscious). Does MWI really entail a sort of solipsism (like they suggest)? And is this the only way the principle of relativity can be saved? Kind of a crazy idea!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2017 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

That is not true.
    That is not true either, and I have no idea why you would think so.

None of the interpretations of quantum mechanics (except many minds, but that is really exotic) have a special role for consciousness in any way.

4. Nov 8, 2017 #3

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

So far as I know, MWI doesn't say anything about consciousness. Base quantum mechanics is unable to say anything about consciousness, as it is a theory about observables, and consciousness is not observable. MWI, being only an interpretation (ie speculative hypothesis / philosophy) is not subject to that restriction, so it is 'allowed to' refer to consciousness - but I have never heard it suggested that it does and, not having read Everett (its inventor) in the original, I have not checked.