Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does there being a speed limit imply that all observers view object at speed limit?

1. Jul 29, 2011 #1
    How I studied relativity, we postulated that a particle travelling at c in one inertial frame travels at c in all inertial frame. But now looking through a book, I see that they just postulate that all laws of physics are same in all inertial frames, and that there is a speed limit (c). However then I don't quite get the reasoning on why if an object travels at c in one inertial frame, it follows that it must travel at c in all inertial frames...Is there a contradiction I'm not seeing that if you measure a particle travelling at c, someone moving much faster than you doesn't necessarily have to? This wouldn't change the speed limit in their frame.
    (I know this is wrong, I'm just trying to deduce it from how the book did it).

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 29, 2011 #2
    Re: Does there being a speed limit imply that all observers view object at speed limi

In special relativity, velocities are not additive. If Observer A sees Observer B moving to the right at .9 c, and Observer B sees Observer C moving to the right at .9c, this does not mean that Observer A sees Observer C moving to the right at 1.8c. Rather, velocity obeys something known as the Lorentz Transformation, which in this case leads Observer A to see Observer C traveling at a mere .994c.

These Lorentz transformation rules guarantee that everyone sees light (or any other energetic massless particle) traveling at exactly c no matter how fast each Observer might be moving with respect to other Observers.

4. Jul 29, 2011 #3
    Re: Does there being a speed limit imply that all observers view object at speed limi