1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does this question make sense?

1. Jun 21, 2016 #1
    [Note: Thread moved from General Physics, so no template is shown]

Sorry guys, beginner here taking an online introduction physics course. I'm on a unit involving torque and force. The computer lab taught me how to calculate the force needed to balance a seesaw type setup on the left side, with a given weight on the right side. Easy enough. But one of the questions my instructor has given me seems a bit different, or maybe I'm not getting the point..

"Use the sum of vertical forces and torque equations to calculate the force at the Left and Right end of a 10 foot long plank that has a 200 lb weight 3 ft from the left end.."

Shouldn't there be some type of axis that the plank sits on?

Any help would be much appreciated

Thanks guys!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2016 #2
    Imagine the plank suspended by ropes at the end, like a scaffold.
    Or simply supported on two bricks placed at the ends.
    It does not matter how the forces at the ends are produced. But it may help to imagine some specific situation.

4. Jun 21, 2016 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It would help if you included the entire problem statement verbatim.

It's not clear how this plank is supported, i.e. at one point somewhere along the length, or at each end.

5. Jun 21, 2016 #4
    This is why I posted the question. This is all the info I was given, no picture included.

6. Jun 21, 2016 #5