Undergrad Choice for Physics: Does it Matter?

In summary, it's important to have good grades and a prestigious undergraduate school to improve your chances of getting into a good graduate school. It's also important to focus on physics when you're choosing your undergraduate school, as this is the field in which you will specialize.
Ken98m
I'm a high school student deciding where to go for undergraduate school, but it's a difficult choice between a really prestigious (and expensive) college compared to another school in the top 50 from US News in physics programs that is much easier in cost. I want to do theoretical physics mostly, but I would happy in mostly all fields. I just don't know if that's going to be a focus directed in grad school and not in your undergrad. Any help please?

Physics news on Phys.org
Where you go for undergrad is one point in the graduate school decision process?

If you do well on the GRE and you've come from MIT or Harvard then they're going to look at your file over someone who has done just as well as or even a little better on the GRE but comes from an unknown school. So in that sense it matters.

The pros and cons come in for undergrad as to how well you personally will learn physics. Large schools mean large classes and less interaction with the profs and more with teaching assistants. I went to a small liberal arts school that was in the top 50 list where we were able to talk with the profs on a daily basis in the physics break room.

So basically its:
- GRE
- your courses taken, you grades and your undergrad school prestige
- your recommendation letters
- your accomplishments (inventions, papers, programs, interests, comunity service ...)
- your essay