Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Donnie Darko

1. Sep 14, 2003 #1
    Have any of you seen the movie "Donnie Darko"? What do you think about it. I know it doesn't handle time travel and the roll of fate and alternate universes in the most 100% scientific way possible, but I find it very interesting. In fact, it's become one of my favorite movies.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2003 #2
    i love that movie and i'd highly recommend it to anyone.

i do like the fact that no one postulated (within the movie) that the experiences were at all spiritual in nature; that term seems to be a cop out to scientists seeing concrete explanations. indeed, perhaps everything will have a concrete explanation one day. that would appeal to the mathematican in me.

i see some similarities between donnie and myself at times. if i could just find my own dr. carter as a physics teacher, i'd be happy. i am happy about never seeing anything like frank, though i have seen some things...

in some ways it reminds me of dr. nash and his breaks with reality as most people see it. apparently when nash went to einstein to revise relativity, einstein told nash to learn some more physics...

cheers,
    phoenix

4. Sep 28, 2003 #3
    I know what you mean. After seeing that movie, as much as I'd like to not admit it, I start to relate it to my life sometimes. The Donnie/Frank dichotomy and stuff. Very good.

5. Nov 7, 2003 #4
    I saw that movie and I really liked it. I need to see it again to understand it better.
    Can any of you explain in detail behind the funnel coming out of his stomach. I didn't understand how that would be possible.

6. Nov 9, 2003 #5
    i think the funnel indicated where one was desiring to go or in donnie's case, where he didn't know he wanted to go.

7. Nov 26, 2003 #6