1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Don't understand d squared

1. Jan 5, 2007 #1
    This is a rather basic question, I'm just learning... but I don't understand the difference between

d^2y / dx^2

dy^2 / dx^2

I have included an image where I drew it if you don't understand. I can see how they aren't the same, but its more really I don't get what d^2y means...

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 5, 2007 #2
    I'm not sure if it's entirely a matter of notation or not, I hope someone else will be better able to answer that for you, but the first image represents the second derivative of y with respect to x, and the second image represents the square of the derivative of y with respect to x.
  4. Jan 5, 2007 #3
    I'm interested in this too, because I've never learned the exact reason for the notation. However, now that I think about it, I think this could be an explanation.

The differential operator is

which means to take the derivative of something with respect to x. Used, it looks like this:

\frac{d}{dx}y = \frac{dy}{dx}

To take the second derivative of something, you would differentiate it twice:

\frac{d}{dx} \frac{d}{dx} y = \bigg( \frac{d}{dx}\bigg)^2 y = \frac{d^2 y}{dx^2}

Like d_leet said, [tex]\bigg( \frac{dy}{dx} \bigg)^2[/tex] is the square of the derivative of y with respect to x.

I hope this is right and if anyone can give a clearer explanation I would be glad to hear it.
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2007
  5. Jan 5, 2007 #4
    I can understand that.

Do you know what d squared means? Its just is that, thats something new to me.

alright.. lets say was y=x^4 how are the two different
  6. Jan 5, 2007 #5