Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Double slit with one detector

1. Jun 27, 2017 #1
    In the double slit experiment , if one place only one detector around one slit, while leaving the other slit unchecked, the interference pattern vanishes. Does this show entanglement?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2017 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

No, why would it?

4. Jun 28, 2017 #3
    If the detector did not click, one will know that the particle passed through the other slit.

5. Jun 28, 2017 #4

Drakkith

What other particle? The photon source emits single photons, not entangled pairs.

6. Jun 28, 2017 #5
    But that is only observing that a single particle goes through one slit rather than another - nothing spooky about that, is there?

I am a complete newbie when it comes to reading up on QT, but If I have the history correct, the first proposal for what later was to be called entanglement was the EPR thought experiment in 1935, which stipulated a radioactive particle which decays into two equal-mass particles; this led Schrödinger to propose entanglement; which in general involves pairs or groups of particles with a common origin & with quantum states that can't be described separately, even if they are far apart; or so I read, though I don't claim to understand yet.

Whereas with the double-slit experiment, for most of its history the point hasn't been to explore entanglement but rather wave vs. particle behaviors; i.e. that light behaved like a wave in showing interference (Young, 1801), and did the same even down to single photons as they accumulated (Taylor, 1909); and later that not only did closing a slit remove the interference effect, but so did putting detectors at the slits.