Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Drag Equation

1. Mar 3, 2015 #1
    HI all,
    I am new to the forum and have a real question for you physics buffs. It has to do with drag. For a mathematics paper, I am exploring the use of physics in accident reconstruction. I want to use calculus to create differential equations for the drag equation .5p(Cd)(A)v^2..... I want a drag equation that can be used for a car's motion. However, sources are scarce. I am having trouble with the integration and trying to get the equation into differential form. I am a BC calc student, but am new to physics and the application is a bit tricky for me. Help would be so very much needed!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 3, 2015 #2
    Hi,
    You will want to start with Newton's second law ##ΣFx=m*dvx/dt## where the subscripts indicate that the forces are along the x direction as I assume you'll be working on a horizontal surface. Is friction present in your model as well or is this an exercise just in using the drag equation? Regardless of the answer to that question it is advisable that you collect all of the constants and just label them as a single constant for the purposes of the integration. For example just call ##1/2 CdρA=β## or something.

4. Mar 3, 2015 #3
    Well I am using a Skid mark equation √μgdcosθ. So a car is traveling along the x and skids to a stop. I want to compare the various effects of velocity and frontal area on drag. I want to know if drag will have a major effect on the calculated velocity based on a skid mark length. So there is friction. I think I get what youre saying. So -μmg-βv2 = dv/dt then integrate to find the equation?

5. Mar 3, 2015 #4
    Yup. The integral isn't bad. The constants make it seem more complex than it is. If it gives you trouble I can make another suggestion about how to rename everything so that it might look more familiar.