1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Draw the eqivalent circuit.

1. May 29, 2013 #1

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. May 29, 2013 #2
    Please increase brightness of your screen and then see it.

4. May 29, 2013 #3
    Is this a coupled line circuit? P and Q is the input/output ( interchangeable). If so, you don't have nearly enough info on the length and the line width. It's been a while I studied couplelines. This likely to be a band pass filter type. You really have to have the physical layout to know more, it cannot be just a schematic.

5. May 29, 2013 #4
    have to find eqivalent capacitance between p an q

6. May 29, 2013 #5
    have to find eqivalent capacitance between P anQ

7. May 29, 2013 #6
    You need to draw out the dimension of the structure, specify the dielectric constant. You don't have nearly enough information to even talk here.

If the structure composes of parallel plates that the length and width is much larger than the d, then you can approximate by parallel plate capacitor. But if it's not, then it can get really complicated. Also it depends on the frequency you are working with also. You are asking a question that can potentially be very complicated with almost no information.

The only possibility this can be simpler is if you have parallel plates with large area and you don't need exact value. Then it's just P connect to Q with a parallel combination of a capacitor ##C_{PQ}## comprises of one plate from the P and the other from Q. Then ##C_{PQ}## is in parallel with a series combination of two capacitors ##C_{PA}## and ##C_{AQ}## that formed from plate of P to A, A to Q respectively.

And even at that, the largest dimension of the structure has to be less than ##\frac 1 {20\lambda}## of the highest frequency you use.