Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dumbest thing a professor ever told you

1. Aug 29, 2013 #1

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

A comment on another thread about people with PhDs saying dumb things reminded me of somthing a professor once told the class when I was a student. I thought of sharing it with you, in the hope that some of you also have interesting stories to share.

In an organic chemistry course, the professor was discussing proton NMR, as 1H NMR is commonly called for obvious reasons. One student asked why the protons in other nuclei in the molecule would not also show up on the spectrum (*), the prof answered "because in other nuclei, there are positrons, not protons."

(*) For those who don't know how NMR works: you basically induce spin flips in the nuclei, such that it is the total spin of the nucleus that is important. Most nuclei have spin 0, so you can't do NMR with them, and others resonate at completely different frequencies, so you only see one element at a time in any case.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2013 #2
    E=mc^3...'nuff said.

4. Aug 31, 2013 #3

Intrastellar

Gold Member

"Dumbest thing a student ever told you" would make a much better thread in my opinion.

5. Aug 31, 2013 #4
    "Ignore all that nonsense only this result maters" . The nonsense being a couple of boards of dense, confusing and illogical derivations that did not even come close to the result. The derivation was of course very clearly worked in the textbook.

6. Aug 31, 2013 #5

Dembadon

Gold Member

"There's no such thing as a stupid question."

Many professors say this and I vehemently disagree. There certainly ARE stupid questions and they've been asked every single semester in every course I've ever taken.