Professor's Dumbest Comment in Organic Chemistry Class | Funny Student Stories

• Thread starter DrClaude
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Professor
In summary, a comment on another thread about people with PhDs saying dumb things reminded me of somthing a professor once told the class when I was a student. The prof said there's no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people. I disagree. There certainly ARE stupid questions and they've been asked every single semester in every course I've ever taken. Ignore all that nonsense only this result maters.
DrClaude
Mentor
A comment on another thread about people with PhDs saying dumb things reminded me of somthing a professor once told the class when I was a student. I thought of sharing it with you, in the hope that some of you also have interesting stories to share.

In an organic chemistry course, the professor was discussing proton NMR, as 1H NMR is commonly called for obvious reasons. One student asked why the protons in other nuclei in the molecule would not also show up on the spectrum (*), the prof answered "because in other nuclei, there are positrons, not protons."

(*) For those who don't know how NMR works: you basically induce spin flips in the nuclei, such that it is the total spin of the nucleus that is important. Most nuclei have spin 0, so you can't do NMR with them, and others resonate at completely different frequencies, so you only see one element at a time in any case.

Physics news on Phys.org
E=mc^3...'nuff said.

"Dumbest thing a student ever told you" would make a much better thread in my opinion.

"Ignore all that nonsense only this result maters" . The nonsense being a couple of boards of dense, confusing and illogical derivations that did not even come close to the result. The derivation was of course very clearly worked in the textbook.

"There's no such thing as a stupid question."