Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dynamical definition of spin tensor- Einstein Cartan theory

1. Nov 3, 2015 #1
    Hi, this is my first message on thi forum :D
    I apologize in advance for my english.

I'm doing my thesis work on the theory of relativity of Einstein-Cartan.
    I'm following the article of Hehl of 1976; it's title is "General relativity with spin and torsion: Foundations and prospects".

I can't understand the equations (3.7) at page 399:
    $$\mu^{\lambda\nu\mu}=-\tau^{\lambda\nu\mu}+\tau^{\nu\mu\lambda}-\tau^{\mu\lambda\nu}\qquad \tau^{\nu\mu\lambda}= \mu^{[\mu\nu]\lambda} $$
    Where $\tau$ (spin tensor) e $\mu$ ( pseudo spin tensor) are defined as:
    $${\tau_{\lambda}}^{\nu\mu}=\frac{1}{\sqrt{-g}}\frac{\delta\left(\sqrt{-g} \mathcal{L}\right)}{\delta {K_{\mu\nu}}^{\lambda}}\qquad
    {\mu_{\lambda}}^{\nu\mu}=\frac{1}{\sqrt{-g}}\frac{\delta\left(\sqrt{-g} \mathcal{L}\right)}{\delta {\Theta_{\mu\nu}}^{\lambda}} $$
    Where $\Theta$ and $K$ are respectively torsion and contorsion. For them we have also:
    $${K_{\mu\lambda}}^\nu=-{\Theta_{\mu\lambda}}^\nu+{{\Theta_{\lambda}}^{\nu}}_\mu-{\Theta^{\nu}}_{\mu\lambda}\qquad {\Theta_{\lambda\mu}}^\nu={K_{[\mu\lambda]}}^\nu $$
    I managed to get the formulas in question in a way that implies the antisymmetry of the spin tensor in the last two indices; but i know that, in general, this is not true. On the other hand, i can't find my mistake; it's look like as all is good.
    My reasoning is based on the previous equations and on the chain rule:
    \begin{equation*}
    \begin{split}
    {\mu_{\lambda}}^{\nu\mu}&=\frac{1}{\sqrt{-g}}\frac{\delta\left(\sqrt{-g} \mathcal{L}\right)}{\delta {\Theta_{\mu\nu}}^{\lambda}}\\
    &=\frac{1}{\sqrt{-g}}\frac{\partial\left(\sqrt{-g} \mathcal{L}\right)}{\partial {\Theta_{\mu\nu}}^{\lambda}}\\