1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Earth's Shape

1. Nov 23, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm an engineering student, and my professor of the mechanics course gave a homework to my class last week, we were intended to calculate the real shape of the earth (as an ellipsoid) by taking the centrifugal force in account, using the equation [itex]a' = a -wX(wXr)[/itex]. For that, we also used Euler's equation [itex]∇p + ρg + ρa = 0 .[/itex] My professor then solved the problem considering earth as a sphere, as i'm going to show it below. So my question is, how can I calculate the shape of the earth (as an ellipsoid).

Variables and meaning : ∇p = gradient of pressure, a' = aceleration in a non inercial reference, w = angular velocity, g = gravity. (all of them are vectors)

2. Relevant equations

He told us that in a non inercial reference, the imaginary acelerations could be considered as a field aceleration, so he combined Euler's formula with the centrifugal force, by substituting it in the place of gravity. so we got:[tex]∇p -ρ[wX(wXr)] + ρa = 0.[/tex]

a = GM/r2 runitary = GM/r3 rvector,[tex]r^2 = x^2 + z^2[/tex].

considering w in the z axis we will obtain a relation for ∂p/∂x and ∂p/∂z, then we will solve the equation obtaining: [tex]p(x,z) = -ρGM/(√x^2 + z^2) -ρw^2*x^2/2 + C[/tex] C being a constant.

considering p as: [itex]p(0,R) = po = -ρGM/R + C[/itex], we obtain [itex]C = po + ρGM/R[/itex]
    so [tex] p(x,z) = -ρGM/(√x^2 + z^2) -ρw^2*x^2/2 + po + ρGM/R[/tex]
    To find the formula of the surface of the earth we got to make p = po.
    Now, making an assumption that w → 0 (not true for the earth), we will obtain [itex]ρGM/(√x^2 + z^2) = ρGM/R[/itex] [tex]x^2+z^2 = R^2[/tex] Obtaining a sphere equation.