Troubleshooting Function Call Error in Subroutine

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of a module containing a subroutine and several functions in Fortran. The main issue is with calling one of the functions within the subroutine, as it is not recognized. The conversation also discusses the mistake of redefining a function as a variable within the subroutine. The solution is to use the correct function name and ensure that the function is defined within the same module.
autobot.d
So I am making a module to run in the main program. The module contains a subroutine and several functions. I want to call one of the functions into the subroutine but it is not getting recognized. I am just doing

Real :: fct %fct is the function name that returns a real value

but when I try to use the function i get the error

Error: Unclassifiable statement at (1)

I also tried

Real, external :: fct

but the same problem occurs.

Technology news on Phys.org
I'm not a Fortran expert, and I've only used Fortran95, but defining functions like in the following (trivial example) works for me.

Code:
!  Example using modules
module module1
implicit none
contains

function times2(x)
 real :: times2,x

times2 = x*2.0

end function times2

end module module1

I get that part, but calling that function inside a subroutine in the module as follows:
Code:
!Example using modules
module module1
implicit none
contains

function times2(x)

times2 = x*2.0

end function times2

!This is what I am wondering about

subroutine proc(input1)
real :: input1
real :: times2  !This does not seem to work for me
                    !Nor does real, external :: times2
times2(input1)

end subroutine procend module module1

autobot.d said:
I get that part, but calling that function inside a subroutine in the module as follows:
Oh I see, you're making much the same mistake as in your previous question. :)