Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ebook Reader for College

1. Dec 1, 2009 #1
    hi, I'm thinking of getting an eBook reader this Christmas for college. However, before I do I would like to know how effective it would be for studying. Does anyone have any experience using ebook readers in college?

I'm studying physics and maths (and material science but maybe not next year). I try to read my textbooks but I mainly use them for reference.

There are somethings I'd like to know about ebook readers:
    1) Are there many textbooks available for them and are they cheap or free (I'm in the UK by the way), and are there ebook versions of the main textbooks?

2) Can the ebook readers annotate the ebooks?

3) Can ebook readers display pictures?

4) Can I add my own files?

I'm aware that there are different ebook readers but I'd like to find one that can do all the above. Any other comments / thoughts are also wanted

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2009 #2
    I own a Kindle 2. I wouldn't consider it as good as a text (not as yet at least). The texts that are available for purchase can be downloaded and converted to Kindle format (which now supports PDF), but there isn't so much variety as one would have with texts. It would be a better option to borrow the books needed from a library.

1/ You can get many free textbooks online and convert them to PDF format. Check the Math and Science Learning Materials forum. Many texts are good. By main textbooks, if you refer to the standard texts used at college, you will have to check amazon.com to see their list.

2/ For Kindle 2, annotation is not yet a feature for PDF files. For txt files, such a feature is available, but who has plaintext text books?

3/ Yes

4/ Yes

4. Dec 3, 2009 #3