Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

EE with a minor in physics?

1. May 27, 2004 #1
    EE with a minor in physics???

I am seeking advice on some school decisions and I figured someone here could help since almost every one her is obviously educated on the subject.

On to my predicament:

Originally I wanted to do joint degrees in EE and physics. That is probably out of the question at this point just because an EE degree is hard enough in its self. I just found out that my college offers a minor in Physics; this would probably be right up my alley.
    My question is:
    If I got a Bachelors or masters degree in EE and added on a minor in physics would it elevate my carrier potential?
    If so how? Ex - Easier to get a job, faster upward mobility, make me shine above the next guy ect...

Thanks for any help you can give.

2. jcsd
  3. May 27, 2004 #2

Homework Helper

The answer to this question is always a speculation. You can look at it this way: It probably won't hurt your job prospects, and if you are interested in physics, then it won't be a waste of time anyway.

You may be unpleasantly surprised to find that the process of getting a job depends very little on your aptitude for it and far more on your non-job related job getting skills (i.e. interpersonal networking, writing a good resume, good communication, good interview skills, and the list goes on). If you are concerned about getting a job, then I strongly advise you to consult with your university's career center. That is how I got my hook-up, and I don't think I would have gotten it otherwise. As far as doing the job once you have it, if you are interested in physics, then I would recommend the minor, since that will make it more likely for you to "do physics" once you finally get a job.