Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Effects Pedal

1. Mar 31, 2009 #1
    Hello all! Im building an effects pedal for my guitar (dont have a choice, I spent all the money I was saving on the guitar). Since electronic components are cheap, for once, Im glad Im studying EE.

At first I thought I'd design the circuits myself, but after doing a bit of research, I found a load of schematics available on whatever effects pedal I want, I do have a couple of questions though...

Ive used 741c op amps in all my practicals and Im familiar with them, however, can I use the 741C instead of T-1215 op amp?

Also is it absolutely necessary that I use the te series capacitors when required or will standard electrolytic ones suffice?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 31, 2009 #2

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Any specific reason why you would use a 741?
    You do know that the 741 is really ancient and the only reason why it is still being used is because it is extremely cheap? I can't think of a good reason to use it for anything if you have a choice (unless you like the sound of it, even "bad" components can work in an effects pedal)

Anyway, do you mean LT1215? If so the answer is no, 1215 is a precision quad op-amp.

4. Mar 31, 2009 #3

Averagesupernova

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The 741 is still used because it is good enough in the cases it is used in, and of course it is cheap. It in all probability is good enough in this case.

5. Mar 31, 2009 #4

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, not if chaoseverlasting really meant LT1215 since that is a quad op-amp:wink:; I believe the quad version of 741 is called LM-something...

I agree that 741 is often good enough, and if you are planning to mass-produce something cost might an issue.