Efficiency of computers vs. brains

In summary, the fundamental reason behind why modern electronic computers are faster than humans at doing basic arithmetic is because computers are explicitly designed for this task while human brains evolved for other purposes. This is due to the fact that neurons are larger than transistors, allowing for quicker transfer of information in computers. However, this is only a small part of the reason why computers are faster at certain tasks, as human brains are better at processing large amounts of non-specific data. The conductivity of materials does not play a significant role in the speed difference between computers and brains.
otownsend
TL;DR Summary
I'm trying to understand how a brain v.s. a computer computes and why computers are immensely better than humans at certain tasks.
Hi,

I’m an undergraduate student interested in cognitive processes. I’m about to ask a very interdisciplinary question, and so hopefully I can find a physicists that can take on the challenge.

What is the fundamental reason behind why modern electronic computers (transistor computers) are faster than humans at doing basic arithmetic?

While we are still trying to figure out how to compare brains to computers, I think we can all agree that the brain has many computational features to it. The brain transfers ions between neurons and a computer transfers electrons through transistors. So then what makes computers more efficient at processing information? Does it have something to do with the conductivity of materials?

Physics news on Phys.org
otownsend said:
What is the fundamental reason behind why modern electronic computers (transistor computers) are faster than humans at doing basic arithmetic?

otownsend said:
what makes computers more efficient at processing information?

These are two different questions; "processing information" is much, much more general than "doing basic arithmetic".