1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Eigenstates of general spin matrix

1. Oct 16, 2007 #1
    Hello,
    I'm having a terrible difficulty solving problem 3.18 in A Modern Approach to Quantum Mechanics by John Townsend. I have done literally hours of work and am beginning to think I don't understand how eigenvalues relate to matrix mechanics as well as I thought. Please excuse my TeX it is my first time :redface:

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Determine the eigenstates of [tex]S{n}[/tex] = S [tex]\bullet[/tex] n for a spin-1 particle, where the spin operator S = [tex]S{x}[/tex]i + [tex]S{y}[/tex]j + [tex]S{z}[/tex]k and n = sin[tex]\theta[/tex]cos[tex]\phi[/tex]i + sin[tex]\theta[/tex]sin[tex]\phi[/tex]j + cos[tex]\theta[/tex]k. Use the matrix representation of the rotation operator in 3.19 to check your result when [tex]\phi[/tex] = 0.

2. Relevant equations
    3.19: (3x3 matrix)

R([tex]\theta[/tex]j) =

.5(1 + cos[tex]\theta[/tex]) -(1/Sqrt(2))sin[tex]\theta[/tex] .5(1-cos[tex]\theta[/tex])
    (1/Sqrt(2))(sin[tex]\theta[/tex]) cos[tex]\theta[/tex] -(1/Sqrt(2))sin[tex]\theta[/tex]
    .5(1 - cos[tex]\theta[/tex]) (1/Sqrt(2))sin[tex]\theta[/tex] .5(1+cos[tex]\theta[/tex])

3. The attempt at a solution