Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Eigenvectors and Eigenvalues

1. Nov 13, 2011 #1
    I have to be able to figure out eigenvalues and eigenvectors for 2x2 and 3x3 matrices for my physics course, but I have never taken linear algebra so I obviously have no idea what they even are. I need someone to basically teach me how to solve these problems because I have no knowledge of this material and cannot find any useful source to help me.

First I have to find the eigenvalues and vectors for

[a 0 1]
    [0 b 0]
    [0 0 c] where a =/= b =/= c.

I looked around online and could only find that the answers for the eigenvalues are a, b, and c but I have no idea how that answer is derived. And I have no idea how to solve for eigenvectors except so any help would be great.

Next I have to do the same thing for

[a a 0]
    [2a 0 0]
    [0 a a] where a =/= 0.

Again I know that the solution for the values is -a, a, and 2a but no clue on how to actually do the problem.

I know nothing of this material except how to figure out the determinant of a matrix. So detailed steps on how to solve for eigenvalues and eigenvectors would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2011 #2

I like Serena

Homework Helper

An eigenvalue λ and its eigenvector v are defined by:

Av = λv

That is, you try to find a vector that if you multiply A with it you find the same vector, except for length.

To solve this, you do:
    Av - λv = 0
    (A - λI)v = 0

This means (A - λI) must be singular, so its determinant must be zero.
    det(A - λI)=0 yields a polynomial in λ, that is called the "characteristic polynomial".
    Its roots are the eigenvalues of A.

Once you have an eigenvalue, you solve:
    (A - λI)v = 0
    to find a vector v (or its multiple) that satisfies the equation.

4. Nov 13, 2011 #3

I like Serena

Homework Helper