Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric conversion

1. Aug 30, 2010 #1
    hi, my name is karthik. i am a student and have taken a project.
    i am planning to convert a 22 seater mini bus to electric. it produces max power of 70 hp at 3000rpm and max torque of 222 N-m at 1750-2000rpm. max gradeability is 30%. final drive ratio is 6.574:1. max speed i am looking at is 70kmph. avg speed is 40kmph.
    what power motor do you suggest to use? i am planninig to use brushless dc motor. also what voltage motor to use?
    what batteries to use? how many of them? what Ah value?
    i am thinking of 12V lead acid batteries but not able to calculate the Ah value. the vehicle travels around 6hrs a day and covering 240 km.

please reply as soon as possible.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 30, 2010 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

I'm sorry, but what you are suggesting there is an extremely tall order. You'd need several dozen car batteries at the very least.

Do you know what fuel economy this mini bus gets?

4. Aug 31, 2010 #3
    hey russ, thanks for your response. my project is for public transport corporation, so there is lots of space to place the batteries and also since fuel not being used the costs can be recovered in a year. the vehicle presently gives around 4km to a litre, hence the conversion to electric. please help me out with the calculations.

5. Aug 31, 2010 #4

russ_watters

Ok. So the actual efficiency difference between diesel and electric depends on the type of driving: diesel vehicles have highly variable efficiency based on the driving (city vs highway), but electrics do not. At the very least, you probably waste half the output of the gas engine, then the engine itself is only about 33% efficient. So figure an electric could do the equivalent of about 24 km/L.