1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric Field/Charge

1. Apr 24, 2009 #1

Air

Hello, I will post questions on this thread on Electric Field/Charge and other topics related to it. I'm studying it and am very weak at it thus any help will be appreciated.

For now, here's one question.
    • I've come across two equations for E which are E = (Kq)/(r) and E = (Kq)/(r^2). I don't understand why it is r and sometimes (r^2). Are they specific for some cases? Also, which is used more often?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 24, 2009 #2
    Well the first equation you have stated is for Potential, and the second equation is electric field strength for a radial field.

4. Apr 24, 2009 #3

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

The second equation, E = (Kq)/(r^2), gives the field from a point charge. The first equation, E = (Kq)/(r), is not dimensionally correct, so I suspect you are mistaking it for another equation. (Perhaps the potential from a point charge: U = (Kq)/(r).)

[RoryP beat me to it. :smile:]

5. Apr 24, 2009 #4

Air

What is the potential used for? When is it used in context?

I know that it's related to Work by W=Ua - Ub.Work is the energy required to move a charge.

(Thanks for the help so far :biggrin:)

6. Apr 24, 2009 #5
    Hmm not entirely sure, i know the units for Potential are Volts. And i also know that if you integrate field strength dr between the limits infinity and current position you end up with Potential. =]
    Convieniently the laws for universal gravitation run in parallel to the ones for electric fields, so if you have knowledge of the gravitational ones then it could be helpful =]

Last edited: Apr 24, 2009
  7. Apr 24, 2009 #6

Air