What do electrical engineers actually do in the workforce?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concerns of a college student majoring in electrical engineering about the type of jobs available and the daily tasks of an electrical engineer. They mention looking at job listings and feeling confused by the requirements and job descriptions. They also mention statistics about engineers ending up in non-engineering careers and the possibility of a Master's degree leading to a more relevant job. The conversation also touches on the different sub-fields of electrical engineering and the relevance of the field in everyday life.
mathrocks
I'm currently in my third year of college majoring in electrical engineering. I'm just now starting to worry about the different kind of jobs that are available out there. I was hoping some electrical engineers can describe their typical days at work. I just have no clue to what exactly a electrical engineer does? Do they just sit in an office solving circuits? Do they design circuits? I've been looking at jobs listings online and everything I've seen said you need 5-6 years of experience and the description of the job looked totally foreign to me. What do average recent graduates with a bachelor's degree do?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
What's your major or planned major. That can matter a lot if you plan to be knowledgeable in your job. Oh, but do keep in mind that 70% of engineers end up in non-engineering careers (statistics from my school's career center). Deutche Bank had a career talk at my school a couple weeks ago and I asked them. They said they love hiring engineer graduates ;)

The engineers and engineers-to-be that I've talked to have told me that most engineers become paper pushers. :(

But, I don't know if that's only for those with B.S. degrees. Maybe with a Master's you can do something closer to what you actually studied.

PL

mezarashi said: