Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electromagnetic wave

1. Oct 21, 2012 #1
    I can't represent me mentally what is an electromagnetic wave.

I know that a mechanical wave is the propagation of a disturbance in a material medium and mentally I can see what it is. But electromagnetic ....

Last year, I did electromagnetism. We studied Maxwell equations and we saw a variation of the field E => B field variation but we never spoke of electromagnetic waves.

what transport an electromagnetic wave? Energy without matter like a mechanical wave? should we see this as a particle (wave-particle duality)?

i'm currently studying quantum mechanics. But before I get into the wave functions, it is best to know what we are talking about before ...

Thank you for your answers which I hope will steer me well

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2012 #2
    If you know about the electric field and the magnetic field, you know that neither is made of matter, yet they can both transmit a force.

In fact, matter (solid objects) actually interact with each other, not by actual contact of the atoms, but though the repulsive electrostatic force between their orbiting electrons.

So matter isn't more 'real' than electric/magnetic fields.

It's difficult to get a grasp on these ideas, the best you can do is to build mental images of models in the 'real' world that behave a bit like the thing you are trying to study. That's particularly hard with em waves because there is nothing quite like them in ordinary experience. The idea of a 'transverse' wave is hard to grasp - the nearest you can get is the motion of waves on a string - but that's only one-dimensional.