Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Electromagnetics problem

1. Jun 2, 2004 #1
    Electromagnetics problem....

Hello. I am an electrical engineer who is trying to improve my skills in several areas, one of which is electromagnetics.

I am using the book by David Cheng "Fundamentals in Engineering Electromagnetics" and doing some problems in that book.

I am having trouble with a problem in chapter 2 of that book (its problem 2-23 or 2-25 I believe)....anyway here is the problem...

***Note on my notation: I use bold to signify a vector, since I cant use an arrow on top of it. I also use the symbol "*" for the vector dot product***

Given a vector A(z) z and a hemispherical surface centered at the origin with radius 3 with the flat bottom in the xy plane find...

The surface integral of A(z) * ds.

I have tried it several ways and cant seem to get the answer....Maybe I am writing out the differential surface element incorrectly or my spherical expression for A(z) is wrong.

If someone could give me a worked out solution I would greatly appreciate it. I normally would not go on the internet for a solution, but I am an Army Reservist currently serving in Kuwait....so my resources for such things are somewhat limited.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Russ

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 2, 2004 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Hi, welcome to PF!
    If you are familiar with the LATEX formatting system, this is available at PF;
    check out the thread:
    https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=8997

As to your problem, have you tried using Gauss' theorem?

Let [tex]\mathcal{S}[/tex] be the closed surface around volume [tex]\mathcal{V}[/tex] consisting of the hemisphere [tex]\mathcal{H}[/tex] and the disk [tex]\mathcal{D}[/tex] in the xy-plane (i.e., z=0).

Then we have, by Gauss'theorem: