1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electronics Engg

1. Aug 11, 2011 #1
    I will be doing Electronics engineering, and in the next 4 years, will be an engineer. But actually, I want to get into research field. Astronomy fascinates me. Can I pursue a Mtech in Astronomy after my engineering? Or in something else related to research in space? Also, I am from India.

And how is Electronics Engineering btw? It's pros and cons?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2011 #2

MATLABdude

Science Advisor

I have no idea--I suppose I am an electronics engineer (albeit only as a contractor, and at a place where I've been told I'm the one-eyed in the land of the blind) but your question is extremely broad, and will greatly vary with where you work, what company you work at, and whom you work with. All that said, I've noticed a lot of people from India who want to go into a physics field (and often, a theoretical one) in graduate school, but want to--or are coming from--an engineering education.

Could you weigh in on the thread below? I'd love for more perspective and feedback on the topic (especially since it comes up so often):
    https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=511511

4. Oct 4, 2011 #3