Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Elementary Chemistry Project

1. May 27, 2004 #1
    OK, I am relatively new to Chemistry, but our school is having a science fair competition soon, and my Chemistry teacher wants us all to do something. Since we are not seasoned warriors of practical Chemistry yet, we are not planning on making bombs, or anything as dangerous and complicated as that. Just to give you a scope of what we are capable of: we have already been acquainted with titration and qualitative analysis, identifying positive/negative ions, etc.

What we are really interested in, however, is a project involving the theory of Chemistry, preferably something that cannot be found in most Chemistry textbooks. We love moles. However, we do not understand how the number of atoms in a mole can be counted. Maybe we can do a project that lets us count moles? Anyway, I'm looking forward to hearing some great ideas!!
  2. jcsd
  3. May 27, 2004 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I didn't look at it in too much detail, but this page seems to outline the procedure for an experiment that would allow you to find the number of atoms/molecules in a mole.
  4. May 27, 2004 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

If you take a balloon with a little bit of water in it, tie it up and put it in a microwave, the water boils to make steam, which inflates the balloon - this looks really neat.