What Are the Emerging Technologies in the Field of Implantable Medical Devices?

In summary, the speaker is a rising sophomore at an American college studying Physics/Applied Engineering Physics. They are currently working at a venture capital company for the summer and have been tasked with finding an industry or technology to research for the next month. This research will also help them decide on a scientific research topic for their undergraduate studies. The speaker mentions the potential for long term job opportunities with the venture capital company and suggests looking into the field of implantable medical devices, specifically in the areas of nanotechnology and electronics.
Apple96
I'd greatly appreciate for any advice.

I'm a rising sophomore at an american college, studying for Physics/Applied Engineering Physics.

During this summer, however, I'm working, or rather studying, at a venture capital company. My assignment right now is to find an industry/technology that I want to do various research on for the next month--the very industry in which I desire to work as an engineer after graduation.

Therefore, I need to specifically find a future-oriented one that has very high potential. An example can be a flexible display several years ago; although not widely accepted in general market, the technology of flexible display was continuously advanced by scientists funded by visionary businesses, and now their efforts have reached fruition as many prominent companies started to bring marketable flexible displays into the actual market.

This research on the industry/technology will also help me on deciding what scientific research I want to pursue during my undergraduate studying. For instance, my school has a great nanotechnology laboratory; however, since I only took general science courses during my freshman year, I do not have any idea on which particular research is likely to fit my interest.

Thank you,

Physics news on Phys.org