1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Energy and Power problem -- help please

1. Jul 12, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A car of mass 750kg has a maximum power of 30kW and moves against a constant resistance to motion of 800N. Find the the maximum speed of the car:
    i) on level
    ii) Up an incline of S-1 1/10 to the horizontal

2. Relevant equations
    K.E = 1/2mv2
    GPE = mgh

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am not sure how to approach this problem as I am just learning about the topic of Energy and Power on my own for a course to get extra creds. I've looked in a couple texts and online to get an idea of how to approach these kind of equations but they all leave me confused. How would you approach this question? Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 12, 2016 #2
    You must have some thoughts on this. What are they? If the speed of the car is v, in terms of v, how much power is being exerted against the constant resistance?

4. Jul 12, 2016 #3
    Well, so far, what I think I got is the force the car uses to accelerate which is mg (750*9.8). Using the equation Power=F*v, I guess the velocity would be v=P/F?

5. Jul 12, 2016 #4
    mg is the weight of the car. How is that related to its forward acceleration in part (i)? Is the kinetic energy of the car changing once it reaches maximum velocity? The rate of power consumed against the resistance is equal to the resistance force (800 N) times the velocity, right? If the car has reached maximum speed, how is maximum rate of power provided by the car related to the rate of power consumed against the resistance?

6. Jul 12, 2016 #5