Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engine of calculus

1. Aug 3, 2007 #1
    "engine of calculus"

hey

hope this is the correct section, but im just starting to learn differential equations and in our book there is a quote about how differentials are the "engines of calculus". Could someone explain that a bit better to me?

Thanks!:smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2007 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Darned if I know what is meant! Certainly, basic calculus concerns itself with two basic concepts- the integral and the derivative. Most modern calculus books start with the derivative and then introduce the integral in terms of the "anti- derivative". Perhaps that is what is meant.

4. Aug 3, 2007 #3
    but isnt there a sleight difference between derivatives and differentials?

5. Aug 3, 2007 #4

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

The word, "engine", might not be the best vocabulary choice; but differentials are an essential detail constituting Calculus. A differential is an infinitessimally small increment.

6. Aug 3, 2007 #5
    ah, ok I see what you mean. when I hear "engine" I picture the driving force behind something, which is why it didnt make sense to me or I thought I was missing something fundamental to calculus.

7. Aug 3, 2007 #6
    The differential determines which variable is affected by the differentiation and/or integration, so we can say that they are the "engines" for differentiation and integration, I suppose. I've come across this when students in introductory calculus forget to write their differentials, and don't realize how important they are to the problem.

8. Aug 4, 2007 #7