[Engineering advice] What field is right for me?

• Thread starter sphericow
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Field
In summary, the person is a second year university student who is trying to decide between majoring in electronic or mechanical engineering. They initially planned on studying physics or math, but have decided against it due to a lack of passion and concerns about job opportunities. They are interested in cars and F1, but have little practical experience with mechanical tools. They also enjoy the more mathematical and rigorous approach of electronic engineering, but did not enjoy their intro to electronics class. They have also considered other options such as applied mathematics and CFD modelling. Ultimately, they are advised to choose the major that aligns with their interests and career goals.
sphericow
I'm a student coming into my second year of university. My first year course was the general engineering/science program (maths/physics/programming/electronics/materials/intro engineering).

Now I need to chose my major, I'm looking at either electronic or mechanical engineering.

Background info:
I had planned on studying physics/and or math but have decided against it because I don't really have a deep drive that would be necessary. When I try to balance my interest in physics/math vs. the possibility of not actually working in my desired field/not even having a decent job, physics loses. I'm really afraid of finishing my degree, walking away with debt and having to teach high school physics to survive.

So I guess I'm looking the (almost) default career path for mathematically and scientifically able students: engineering.

This is how I perceive my choice:
Mechanical
I'm really interested in cars and mainly F1 - I guess you could call it a passion. But I have basically zero practical experience with mechanical tools/processes. I know mechanical engineering is a VERY broad field and the automotive/aerodynamic side is small.