• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Engineering or Physics

• Engineering
  • Thread starter Skyenet
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

So, I am currently in the process of applying to universities, and I have narrowed it down to three main candidates:
MSci, Astrophysics (At Aberystwyth University)
MEng, Aerospace Engineering (At Swansea University)
BEng, Robotics & Space Science (Not really relevant to the question) (At Aberystwyth University)
Now, I have a dilemma I suspect I may be facing if/when I get replies saying I've gotten offers from both Astrophysics and Aerospace Engineering. You see, I have always been interested in space, ever since I was about 10 years old. This is why I want to go into Astrophysics, but I just realized, I really have no idea what an Astrophysicist does, and if it is a career choice I want to make. You see, as an Aerospace Engineer I know I can work in Defense, Space, Aircraft, and so on. I know it pays well, and I am interested in it. The first parts, I am not too sure about with regards to Astrophysics. I have no idea what kind of careers there are with a Master (Or, alternatively an add-on to a Doctorate, probably in the US) in Astrophysics. The pay I am not so worried about, because if it is interesting work, I don't really care.
So, what I am seeking is advice on what kind of careers there are in Astrophysics and if there is a high chance of me standing there with a Master or Doctorate without a job at the end.

Answers and Replies

So, I am currently in the process of applying to universities, and I have narrowed it down to three main candidates:
MSci, Astrophysics (At Aberystwyth University)
MEng, Aerospace Engineering (At Swansea University)
BEng, Robotics & Space Science (Not really relevant to the question) (At Aberystwyth University)