Is architecture the right path for me?

In summary, the person is considering doing architecture after completing their electrical engineering degree. They have a high GPA and their dad is a career engineer, so admission shouldn't be an issue. They are considering whether or not to pursue a degree in architecture or to stick with electrical engineering and pursue a research oriented career.
Melawrghk
Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about my edumacation a bit and would like some advice. I am currently in 3rd year of electrical engineering (I love it, don't get me wrong), I also adore drawing and sculpturing. So for a few months I've been thinking about doing architecture after this degree. It's a master's program for 3 years, which isn't bad and it's something I think I'm interested in. I know it's a VERY strong deviation from electrical engineering, a lot of you will probably frown upon this.
I do have a relatively high GPA (3.9), so grades wise admission shouldn't be problematic. It will come down to my lack of experience with structures (well... somewhat lack) and no official artistic education.

Nevertheless, I was thinking of preparing my best application in 4th year and just going for it: if I get in, so be it.. if not, oh well.

What do you think? :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Melawrghk said:
I know it's a VERY strong deviation from electrical engineering, a lot of you will probably frown upon this.

really? I think it would be great to think of architecture as another branch of engineering or construction.

Last edited:
Definitely stick with the EE. A degree with EE is worth much more than one in architecture. In my opinion architecture is not a good choice - especially since you're actually graduating with a EE degree.

(I can't tell you from personal experience - yet - because I'm actually just about to start my ee program, lol, but my dad who is a EE and works in the petrochem industry has advised me on this and he thinks it is definitely not the way to go.)