Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineers and Theoreticians

1. Sep 23, 2008 #1
    What irks engineers about theorists and vice versa?

I mean, to solve DE's for example, a lot of my friends prefer the Laplace Transforms (I'm studying EE), but my mathematics professor's kinda against the L(f) to solve DE's. :tongue2:

What other quirks have you guys come across?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2008 #2
    Errrr, what?

Nothing irk's engineer's about theorists. What an igonrant question.

I don't understand what your personal story about your math professors has to do with anything. There's good reason why they are against using it. They want you to know how to do it via various methods, and the Laplace transform doesn't work for any old function. So, how are you going to use it for functions that don't have laplace transforms?

You cant take the laplace transform of exp(x^2), for instance.

Also, what do engineers care about 'theorists' in the first place?

Last edited: Sep 23, 2008
  4. Sep 24, 2008 #3
    Engineers and theorists are not necessarily polar opposites. Many engineers work on very theoretical research. The main thing is that the engineers work on theoretical projects that ultimately have some application.

A better dichotomy would be engineering/applied research vs. pure/fundamental research. The former is focused on research that is suspected to have some practical application, whereas the latter conducts research that may not necessarily have a practical application.

Or, perhaps another dichotomy is experimental research vs. theoretical research.

5. Sep 24, 2008 #4
    Thank you. Thats very helpful. And I'm pretty sure you can take the laplace transform of exp(x^2). I could show you how.

6. Sep 24, 2008 #5