Engineers and Theoreticians

• Thread starter chaoseverlasting
  • Start date
In summary: I never thought about it like the article suggests.In summary, engineers and theorists are not necessarily polar opposites, but there are differences in their approach to research and problem-solving. Engineers tend to focus on practical applications and may use various methods to solve problems, while theorists may prioritize theoretical understanding and may not always have practical applications in mind. However, both fields are important and often overlap in their use of scientific knowledge and principles.
chaoseverlasting
What irks engineers about theorists and vice versa?

I mean, to solve DE's for example, a lot of my friends prefer the Laplace Transforms (I'm studying EE), but my mathematics professor's kinda against the L(f) to solve DE's. :tongue2:

What other quirks have you guys come across?

Physics news on Phys.org
Errrr, what?

Nothing irk's engineer's about theorists. What an igonrant question.

I don't understand what your personal story about your math professors has to do with anything. There's good reason why they are against using it. They want you to know how to do it via various methods, and the Laplace transform doesn't work for any old function. So, how are you going to use it for functions that don't have laplace transforms?

You can't take the laplace transform of exp(x^2), for instance.

Also, what do engineers care about 'theorists' in the first place?

Last edited:
Engineers and theorists are not necessarily polar opposites. Many engineers work on very theoretical research. The main thing is that the engineers work on theoretical projects that ultimately have some application.

A better dichotomy would be engineering/applied research vs. pure/fundamental research. The former is focused on research that is suspected to have some practical application, whereas the latter conducts research that may not necessarily have a practical application.