Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

EOF in C

1. Oct 3, 2011 #1
    Can anyone please explain what is EOF in C programming language.

Is it a value (numeric, character) or something else ??

While reading the book "The C programming language", by Ritchie I came across this term. The code was :

#include <stdio.h>
    /* copy input to output; 1st version */
    main()
    {
    int c;
    c = getchar();
    while (c != EOF) {
    putchar(c);
    c = getchar();
    }
    }

Please, please explain. I am just a beginner in C programming language, not an expert. So please give an explanation I can understand ...

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 4, 2011 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hello physics kiddy and welcome to the forums.

EOF is short for end of file.

Think of a file handle as an object that represents something you can either read stuff from, write stuff to, or read and write stuff to.

When we think of files, most of us think of files on our hard disk like the AVI movies, or MP3 files, or PDF documents. These are files, but in some platforms files relate to anything where input and output is concerned and this could include stuff from the keyboard, stuff sent and received from a network port and so. Since you are beginner just think that file means something that deals with getting input and output.

What the EOF function does is return a true value if the end of the file stream has been reached (no more input left to get) and returns false if there is still stuff to read.