Epsilon-delta definition

• Thread starter imram.math
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

please i am new to math. I donot know exact meanings of epsilon-delta definition. i dont comprehend it. Would Anybody help me. thanks in advance

Answers and Replies

vanhees71
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
2019 Award
What particularly are you not understanding? Do you mean the [itex]\epsilon[/itex]-[itex]\delta[/itex] definition of continuity of a function at a point?

In this case it reads:

A function [itex]f:D \rightarrow \mathbb{R}[/itex] is continuous at [itex]x_0 \in D[/itex] iff for any [itex]\epsilon>0[/itex] there exists a [itex]\delta>0[/itex] such that for all [itex]x \in D[/itex] with [itex]|x-x_0|<\delta[/itex]
[tex]|f(x)-f(x_0)|<\epsilon.[/tex]
This just says in a formal way that the graph of the function doesn't jump at [itex](x_0,f(x_0))[/itex].

pwsnafu
Science Advisor
##0<|x-x_0|<\delta## actually.

jbunniii
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
##0<|x-x_0|<\delta## actually.
There's no reason to exclude the point ##x = x_0##. We trivially have ##|f(x_0) - f(x_0)| < \epsilon## for any ##\epsilon##.

arildno
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
There's no reason to exclude the point ##x = x_0##. We trivially have ##|f(x_0) - f(x_0)| < \epsilon## for any ##\epsilon##.
It sure is a reason.
Otherwise, discontinuous functions would be deprived of limit values at the point of discontinuity. Thus, the limit concept would be conflated with the continuity concept.
Think about it!
:smile:

jbunniii
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
It sure is a reason.
Otherwise, discontinuous functions would be deprived of limit values at the point of discontinuity. Thus, the limit concept would be conflated with the continuity concept.
Think about it!
:smile: