1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Epsilon-Delta Proof Of Limits

1. Jul 19, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Proof of product of limits of f(x) and g(x). In terms of epsilon-delta.

2. Relevant equations
    See below.

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am familiar with a slightly different proof, and was wondering if this was also valid, even if not as eloquent. My thoughts were that because I could express epsilon in terms of only other constants, it could work. But alas, I am new to the idea of these proofs and have doubts about what I did. My work is pictured below.

http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/4452/img7308.jpg [Broken]
    ^^ just click on the link. I apologize, but I couldn't resize and if I posted the actual image it would've distorted the thread appearance. Thank you in advance for any help.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 19, 2010 #2
    I'm not sure your last two lines work as a proof, i.e., I don't think |f(x)g(x) - LM| < E( E + M + L ) is sufficient proof for |f(x)g(x) - LM| < E.

4. Jul 19, 2010 #3
    Thank you for your input - that was certainly the part I was unsure about. If you could elaborate on why exactly you think it isn't sufficient I'd be even more grateful.

My thoughts were this - because it was given that f(x) and g(x) were individually bounded by some E, and I was able to express both of them by using the triangle inequality on their product, then it followed that I could bound that product accordingly. The one major difference from the other proof I had seen was the inclusion of 4 separate delta terms, as opposed to my 2. I figured that having 2 would be sufficient to express the solution but what do I know? haha

Again, thanks!