Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Epsilon-Delta proofs

1. Sep 11, 2007 #1
    Hello. I have an upcoming exam for my math course and I am aware that much of it will revolve around Epsilon-Delta proofs. My understanding of them is good enough to prove most limits, but I would be more comfortable being able to answer anything that is thrown at me on this test :confused:.

I would appreciate example proofs and recommendations of books that would help on this subject.

EDIT: To specify, it is a multi variable calculus course so I'm studying multi variable Epsilon-Delta proofs.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 12, 2007 #2
    come on guys, I really need some help with this.
  4. Sep 12, 2007 #3
    Give an epsilon-delta proof for the existence of the limit,
    \lim_{\substack{x\rightarrow 0\\y\rightarrow 0}} \frac{(x^2)-(y^2)}{x+y}
  5. Sep 12, 2007 #4
    I know that x^2-y^2 is always less than x^2+y^2, but I cannot find a relation with x+y. If I simplify, I cannot find a relation between sqrt(x^2+y^2) and x+y.

EDIT: sorry. I meant to say x+y
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2007
  6. Sep 12, 2007 #5

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Are you aware that [itex]x^2- y^2= (x-y)(x+y)[/itex]? Using that it is easy to see that
    [tex]\frac{x^2- y^2}{x- y}= x+ y[/itex] (as long as x, y are not both 0). you don't need a relation with x-y, but one between [itex]\sqrt{x^2+ y^2}[/itex] and x+ y.

Since [itex]\delta[/itex] is the "distance from the point" or, in this case, from 0, it often helps to convert to polar coordinates. [itex]x= r cos(\theta)[/itex] and [itex]y= r sin(\theta)[/itex] so [itex]x^2- y^2= r^2cos^2(\theta)- r^2 sin^(theta)= r^2(cos^2(\theta) - sin^2(\theta)[/itex] while x- y= r cos(\theta)- r sin(\theta)= r(cos(\theta)- sin(\theta))= r(cos(\theta)- sin(\theta)) so