What is the role of 'd' in defining a plane's normal form?

• Thread starter sundar0206
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Planes
In summary, The conversation discusses writing a class for defining a plane in software programming. It explains the equation for a plane in its normal form and how the value of d is determined. It also clarifies the role of d in the vector equation of a plane and its representation in cartesian coordinates. The conversation ends with a rephrased question asking for an explanation of d in relation to the origin of the coordinate system.
sundar0206
Hi guys,

I am sort of new here. So I am not pretty sure if I am to post this question in here.

I am a software programmer and I need to write a class for defining a plane. I came across the plane in its normal form nx+ny+nz+d=0

I need to feed in the values of the plane from another part of my program.

I can understand that nx,ny and nz are the normals of the plane. So where does the d come from. How exactly do you arrive at the value of d;

May sound very basic but then it would be nice if some one could help me out

Mathematics news on Phys.org
The equation should read nxx+nyy+nzz+d=0. d essentially defines how far the plane is from the origin of the coordinate system.

If I may rephrase my question:

If the orign of my co ordinate system is (0,0,0) then d is the distance between (0,0,0) and which point on the plane ? Or am I totally misunderstanding this?? Can you please explain

Ok, let us first try to come up with the vector equation of the plane, and then we will switch to cartesian coordinates, and you will probbably see how the d comes into play.

A plane is generally uniqely determined by a point call it [tex] P_o(x_o,y_o,z_o)[/tex] and a vector normal on the plane [tex]n=<a,b,c>[/tex]

Now, let P(x,y,z) be any other point in the plane, then its position vector would be:

[tex]r=<x,y,z>[/tex]

while let

[tex]r_o=<x_o,y_o,z_o>[/tex] be the position vector to the point P_o.