Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Equations or reality

1. Oct 22, 2011 #1
    Equations or reality....

Hello all,

I am new to physics forum and very stupidly I don't have a background or formal education in science. I have one simple question:

Time dilation, length contraction, curvature of space-time, are they all mathematically deducable through equations or can they be physically verified by some experiments?

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 22, 2011 #2
    Re: Equations or reality....

Global positioning system (GPS) is the everyday experimental confirmation.

4. Oct 22, 2011 #3

ghwellsjr

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Why don't you back up in this forum and click on the link called "FAQ: Experimental Basis of Special Relativity"?

There're probably more experiments listed there than you will want to investigate. After all, it was the famous Michelson-Morley Experiment that got this whole thing started.

5. Oct 22, 2011 #4

Time dilation is experimentally verified, for instance GPS would not work if we would not account for time dilation. Length contraction is not and it is probably not even possible to experimentally verify length contraction.

The curvature of spacetime is a bit tricky. If you consider gravitational time dilation curvature of spacetime then the answer is yes, it has been experimentally verified by measuring the effect the Sun has on light rays from far away stars or the red- and blueshift between signals on Earth at different heights. However if you only consider the strong gravitational effects (e.g. the deviation from Euclidean spacetime) curvature of spacetime then it has not, at least not directly, as our instrumentation is not accurate enough to measure that.

6. Oct 22, 2011 #5

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

That is clearly wrong as it is self-contradictory: you can't have one without the other.

7. Oct 22, 2011 #6