Error Analysis and Simpson's Rule to approximate integrals

In summary, Simpson's Rule will give the same result as the definite integral for low-power polynomials due to the nature of its error term being dependent on the fourth derivative of the integrand. This means that for polynomials of degree 3 or less, there is no error involved in the approximation.
Mangoes
Hey there,

This isn't exactly a homework question, but my question did arise while doing homework and I wouldn't know where else to post it, so here I am.

I'm a Calc 2 student and covered approximations of integrals that I normally wouldn't be able to integrate today. I was going through the homework questions and came across something that took my interest.

Homework Statement

[itex] \int 2x^3 dx [/itex] from 1 to 3 (I don't know how to write the definite integral on this forum)

[tex] |Error Bound| = \frac{k(b - a)^5}{180n^4} [/tex]

where a and b are the limits of integration, n is the number of subintervals, and k is the maximum value of the fourth derivative of the integrand.

Find the error involved in approximating the integral when n = 4 while using Simpson's Rule.

-

Now, here's the thing, for this certain function, 2x^3:
[tex] f'(x) = 6x^2 [/tex]
[tex] f''(x) = 12x [/tex]
[tex] f'''(x) = 12 [/tex]
[tex] f^4(x) = 0 [/tex]

The fourth derivative is just 0, so the only value k can really take in this case is 0. I thought this was strange, as it meant an approximation with so little partitions would have no error in it, but I checked behind the book through the answers and sure enough, the answer was 0.

I was still a little puzzled, but I figured that if indeed there's no error in approximating the function, for this case, Simpson's Rule would give the same result as the definite integral. So I went ahead and computed both, and sure enough, the result from both came back as a 40.

This leaves me with a couple of questions: