Evolution & Mutation: Electrical Engineer Explores

In summary: So a fish that has mutations that allow it to do something beneficial will be more likely to survive and reproduce. Over time there will be more fish with that mutation. And if there is a mutation that makes them better than their parents, they will become the majority. In summary, evolution occurs due to mutations, which are errors in the DNA copying process. These mutations can be triggered by environmental factors such as radiation or high temperatures, but can also occur naturally. Mutations can have various effects and can be beneficial, neutral, or deleterious depending on the environment. Once a mutation occurs, there is a chance it will be passed on to the next generation. One type of mutation is known as gene expression
likephysics
I am an electrical engineer. Just curious about evolution.
I was watching a documentary about evolution. So evolution happens because of mutation.
But what exactly trigger or starts mutation.
The DNA or part of DNA which turns ON/OFF other DNA, what exactly is it called. Where can I read more about it.

Biology news on Phys.org
Simply put, no copying process is perfect. Any time you copy the DNA pattern, there is some chance of an error, and any time you get an error you can get a mutation. Environmental effects like radiation, high temperatures, etc. can increase the error rate, but even in the absence of these, there is a non-zero error rate for copying the DNA.

There are many causes of mutation. Once one occurs there is a chance that it will not be fixed and will be passed on to the next generation. Mutations have many different effects and ultimately result in slight differences between offspring. Depending on the environment these mutations are contextually beneficial, neutral or deleterious in different strengths. Beneficial are selected for, deleterious are selected against.