Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Evolution Is True?

1. Aug 6, 2015 #1
    Hello Guys
    I'm not an expert in biology and do not know anything about
    I have some questions about evolution
    Is evolution fact and scientifically proven?
    And is there of biologists who say that evolution is wrong?
    Thank You

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 6, 2015 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Yes evolution is a fact. There are mountains of evidence supporting it.

There are still open questions about the subtle details of evolutionary theory, but the general premise of evolution is about as solid as gravity.

If you're interested you might want to pick up a copy of: https://www.amazon.com/The-Greatest-Show-Earth-Evolution/dp/1416594795.

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  4. Aug 6, 2015 #3

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

There are fruitcakes in all walks of life and there is no reason to think that biology is free from it, so very likely there are a handful of nut cases who think evolution is wrong despite the overwhelming evidence that it is correct.

5. Aug 7, 2015 #4
    Thank you so much :smile:

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  6. Aug 7, 2015 #5
    Thank you for this info sir :)

7. Aug 7, 2015 #6
    In science we don't care for facts. Facts are a dime in a dozen and nothing special.

What is cared about are models that describe reality and have predictive power. The theory of evolution has exactly that, though it cannot predict and explain everything.

There's probably biologists out there that don't value the theory of evolution at all, but that by itself means nothing.

I don't think your question was well worded. Does this really satisfy your curiousity? So people told you that yes, the expects consider it 'fact'.